Awards management

Ausdance National

In consultation with the Nominations Committee and the Selection Panel, Ausdance National

  • manages nominee eligibility and award selection criteria
  • supervises the nominations and voting procedures
  • manages the Australian Dance Awards website
  • changes, adds or removes award categories in response to industry demand or development

Nominations committee

  • Nominations Coordinator: Leanne Craig, Ausdance National
  • Chair, Selection Panel: Robina Beard OAM
  • Advisers: Lee Christofis, Jeff Meiners, Julie Dyson AM

Selection panel

The panel is made up of 13 dance professionals from all states and territories, and of different generations. Members represent the various dance sectors, including teachers, independent artists, dance company directors, writers/critics, administrators and youth dance specialists. The recommended term served by panel members is 3 – 4 years. 

If a member of the selection panel is nominated for an award, he or she is excluded from voting in that category and excluded from any discussion about that category.

Citations for shortlisted nominees

The citations are compiled by the Nominations Coordinator from the supporting comments that accompany each nomination, as well as from online press reviews. If you are submitting a nomination please take the time to describe as vividly and concisely as you can, why this person / company / performance is especially worthy.

The event

The Ausdance state organisations submit Expressions of Interest to present and produce the Awards each year and work closely with Ausdance National to produce the event. A Curatorial Advisory Panel is assembled to assist with artistic direction of the performance program. This panel includes the state Ausdance director, the Selection Panel Chair (Robina Beard OAM) and 3 – 4 dance professionals selected by Ausdance.